close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Cure For Pulsing Brakes...

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Talk' started by Tonga2, Apr 27, 2014.

1. 9/10 pulsing brakes are a stuck/dirty piston in the caliper, not a warped rotor.

2. Very true but the last handful I've come across have been warped rotors

3. Really? That's interesting. I'm a auto tech and on cars it's pretty much 10/10 a warped rotor. Why is it different on bikes?

4. No your right it usually the rotor, bikes have a thin disk versus a cars thick rotor .

5. 99.9% of all bikes have front rotors like in the video. 2 piece "floating" design. When they stop "floating" you essentially have a warped rotor. Make them "float" again and all is well.

99.9% of cars do NOT have floating rotors. Just solid hunks 'o iron. When they warp, they pulse. Resurfacing or replacing are the only solutions.

6. I don't have anything to back it up but I think pad wise and how hard they are used wise, car brakes are much easier to overheat and then also more likely to get crazy cooling cycles from car washes, rainy days, etc than bikes are.

Either way, check the floating design and clean your pistons first before ever replacing a rotor on a bike. It'll save you a lot of money in the long run even if eventually one needs a rotor.

7. cjohns

cjohns sctnabt

Point is...this is a cheap and easy fix. Certainly something to try/eliminate as a source of pulsing. Great post!

8. That's what I was thinking too but I see the point why not check the other stuff first if it's easy and cheap.

9. Good vid, thanks for the post.

10. son has a gsxr with symptoms. i will attempt this before he goes all in on new rotors.... more to follow...:popcorn:

11. Great video! Thanks for posting. I shared it over on SVRider.com